Of Eternal Last Song Syndromes & Closet Faves

I am a person of last song syndromes. Each day, there is a new one for me… Sometimes when I’m alone and my mind is not particularly fixed at a certain thought, they just suddenly pop into my mind.

Yesterday it was Natalie Merchant’s version of “Space Oddity”, sung originally by David Bowie. But sometimes it seems like you’re being punished for the day– 80’s cheesy ballads and unbelievably stupid songs. The most recent case of really bad LSS is the Eighties song which goes.. “Swiss boy… you’re in love with that Swiss boy, I dunno what I’m gonna do…” Annoying, isn’t it? Bus rides are often a good source of bad LSS’s… Songs from the Sex Bomb Girls, Bayani Agbayani, and EGAD!!!… Rainier Castillo (I love you babe… mahal na mahal kitaaaaa…)

But I do have good days-of last song syndrome-songs that is… I have THREE ETERNAL LSS’s. The first song is unexplainable, and almost silly in it’s own little way. It’s Karen Carpenter’s “Close to You”. It usually pops-up when I am walking alone, (almost everyday then when I walk home in Katipunan during my college days). I don’t know if it’s the romantic sunset or the birds that flutter above, I can’t help but go… “Why do birds suddenly appear, everytime.. you are near…? just like me, they long to be close to you…. Enter piano sounds… trumpets, et cetera!!!

Another “walking” LSS is a Better Than Ezra Favorite of mine… “The King of New Orleans”. Oddly enough I never got to know its lyrics. I have the album, but I never had the time and energy to understand Kevin Griffin’s singing voice. It’s just always in my mind… singing… ah what a great song.. now if I only knew what it meant…

Last of my eternal LSS’s is an (underground summer) hit of 1997, and I can’t even remember the TITLE!!! This song pops up now and then but usually when I chance upon sexually vague looking people … And the chorus goes.. “Well I’ve been confused by the startled look in your eyes… Have I’ve been misused … while you’re raping my mind?!?! Have you been misunderstood? You say you’re straight but you knock on wood… wohooo hooo hoo hooo… Are you a BOY or a GIRL?” Enter guitar riffs…

And there are really weird LSS’s which oddly enough, make you feel good… I call them my Closet Favorites.. songs from teeny bopper, bubblegum, tailor-made, manufactured musical artists… Some examples… Backstreetboys’ “As Long As You Love Me”, “Shape of My Heart”, N’SYNC’s “Bye, Bye, Bye”, and Britney Spear’s “Lucky”

Oh goodie… Why did I even mention them (enter… “She’s so lucky, She’s a star, and she cry cry cry with her lonely heart singing… if there’s nothing missing in her life then why do these tears come at night…”— complete with dance steps and clips from its music video).

A visitor made this comment,
hahahahahaha! we all have those indeed.
sexy lexy

Imahinyero made this comment,
It’s a love-hate kind of relationship lex:)

Imahinyero made this comment,
Oh I also like Britney’s “Anticipating”, was it just the Vios?

A visitor made this comment,
boyband songs are indeed LSS closet favorites! my favorite would be BSB’s “I want it that way”… hehehe…. You are my fire. My one desire. Yebah! Long-live boybands!
ien

Imahinyero made this comment,
Ohb yeah, now that is the song I was trying to remember, I “secretly” like that too

One Response to Of Eternal Last Song Syndromes & Closet Faves

  1. […] Of Eternal Last Song Syndromes & Closet Faves […]

Leave a comment