What I Have Learned About Growing Up

I know some people who claim to be bitches. And I am sometimes inspired by people who have this tireless cynicism and talent at throwing blunt statements. I know people who have argued with almost anyone imaginable–from bus conductors to jeepney and taxi drivers, from fastfood attendants to flight attendants, from librarians to embassy secretaries.

But lately… I realized one thing… They learn to shut up. Is that how we tend to grow up?

I guess being twenty something (enter music… Blink182’s “What’s My Age Again?”) means learning to shut up and give way.

And when we were much younger, we were all but afraid to complain (well that’s just me). Now that answers my question why “older” folks are so “vocal.”

As kids we were seen but not heard, then we grow up to be cynical, then we learn to shut up, and finally we become the ultimate bitches that we ought to be… then again we may turn out otherwise.

Life’s a bitch…and so are we. (Music in mind… “Novocaine for the Soul”).

A visitor made this comment,
Slightly off topic.
I remember that time years back when I was still part of the e-group and I sent a biting reply that none of you expected. You all thought I did not have it in me–being a biatch that is–and I was silently laughing my head off because I was like that all the time.

aimee rae

A visitor made this comment,
Hahahaha… I think that’s refreshing 😉
Alan

Leave a comment